The K.I.M. Chart

The K.I.M. Chart is a basic version of a vocabulary frame (higher order thinking strategy for learning new words) in which students define a key (K) term, list information (I) about this vocabulary word, and draw/insert a picture of something that will help them remember (memory- M) the term based on how they understand the term. I will provide the definitions of the words, as looking up the definition is not an effective strategy. However, the students will be responsible for coming up with their own “memory item” that they use to remember the term and its definition.

I will have students fill out a K.I.M. chart for each of their vocabulary words. I think that this strategy will be especially helpful for studying for quizzes/tests as it provides a key device that will help the student remember the term.

Student Sample

KIM chart.PNG

Leave a Reply

